Italy: That’s what I call lunch – Travel @nzherald.co.nz

When I expressed an interest in the origin of the special for the day, fresh porcini mush-rooms, chef Stefano de Arrivati beamingly beckoned me into his kitchen.

There he produced a tray of huge brown mushrooms and in English which was not much better than my Italian led me to understand that they had been gathered that very morning from the surrounding forest.

I could, he said, have them sliced in a salad, fried or in a sauce served with pasta.

Fried sounded a good choice and so it proved. The mushrooms were cooked in a in a light batter which allowed their delicate taste to shine through. Delicious…

Italy: That’s what I call lunch – Travel – NZ Herald News http://nzh.tw/10846880 via @nzherald

Splendid isolation: The Tuscan countryside between Montalcino and Campiglia D'Orcia Splendid isolation: The Tuscan countryside between Montalcino and Campiglia D’Orcia

Leave a Reply

